Saturday, December 3, 2016

[Mammalogy • 1998] A Revision of the Genus Zaglossus (Monotremata, Tachyglossidae), with Description of New Species, Zaglossus attenboroughi, and Subspecies

Zaglossus attenboroughi 
Flannery & Groves, 1998  

A systematic revision of monotremes of the genus Zaglossus has revealed unexpected morphological diversity. Statistical and non-metric analysis indicate that three species can be recognised: Zaglossus bruijnii (Peters and Doria, 1876), which inhabits the Vogelkop, Fak Fak and possibly the Charles Louis Mountains regions; Zaglossus bartoni Thomas, 1907, which occurs on the central cordillera between the Paniai Lakes and the Nanneau Range, as well as the Huon Peninsula; and Zaglossus attenboroughi n. sp. from the Cyclops Mountains. Four distinct subspecies of Z. bartoni can be discerned. The three subspecies inhabiting the central cordillera increase in size from east to west: Z. bartoni smeenki n. ssp. of the Nanneau Range being the smallest, the nominotypical form intermediate in size, and Z. bartoni diamondi n. ssp. the largest. Zaglossus b. clunius inhabits the Huon Peninsula.

 Flannery, T.F. and C.P. Groves. 1998. A Revision of the Genus Zaglossus (Monotremata, Tachyglossidae), with Description of New Species and Subspecies. Mammalia. 62(3); 387–390. DOI:  10.1515/mamm.1998.62.3.367 

Jonathan E.M. Baillie , S amuel T. Turvey and Carly Waterman. 2009. Survival of Attenborough’s long-beaked Echidna Zaglossus attenboroughi in New Guinea. Oryx. 43(1); 146–148. DOI:  10.1017/S0030605309002269


No comments:

Post a Comment